Zeitgeist
Events around date of publication of this item.
Show later events
Wed, 18 Apr 2007
Israeli occupation forces ransack homes in Hebron and kidnap five civilians
Mon, 16 Apr 2007
The Israeli occupation forces invade the Jenin Refugee camp and the Al Mothalath village
Fri, 13 Apr 2007
NUJ, the UK union of journalists, calls for boycott of Israeli goods
Wed, 4 Apr 2007
Iran releases arrested British sailors and marines and is promised access to Iranian diplomats abducted by US in Iraq
Thu, 29 Mar 2007
end of Arab League summit in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Wed, 28 Mar 2007
Academy of artists sponsored by Irish state passes motion urging artists to reflect deeply before cooperating with Israeli events or institutions
end of "Homesh First" Campaign -- Israeli settlers attempt to re-occupy Homesh settlement
start of Arab League summit in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Tue, 27 Mar 2007
Several drowned and dozens injured when sewage dam bursts in Gaza Strip
Mon, 26 Mar 2007
start of "Homesh First" Campaign -- Israeli settlers attempt to re-occupy Homesh settlement
Sat, 24 Mar 2007
England plays soccer against Israel in Tel Aviv
Fri, 23 Mar 2007
Iran arrests 15 British sailors and marines, saying they had entered Iranian waters
Mon, 19 Mar 2007
Norwegian deputy foreign minister meets the Palestinian prime minister
Settlers occupy house in Hebron
Sat, 17 Mar 2007
Palestinian unity government installed
Norway is first country to recognize Palestinian unity government
Wed, 14 Mar 2007
Israeli occupation bulldozers destroy two houses in East Jerusalem
Tue, 13 Mar 2007
end of AIPAC Annual Conference 2007: Washington DC

Show earlier events

Harvard Law Professor Seeks to Block Tenure for Adversary at DePaul U.

<<< Earlier issue of this journal ^ This issue of this journal Later issue of this journal >>>

Article/book #: 61071
Title: Harvard Law Professor Seeks to Block Tenure for Adversary at DePaul U.
By: Jennifer Howard  
Published in: Chronicle of Higher Education
Date of issue: Friday, 13 April 2007
Topic(s) addressed: People/entities mentioned in this item:
Commentary

Abstract:

The highly public feud between Norman G. Finkelstein of DePaul University and the Harvard Law School's Alan M. Dershowitz has taken an unusual procedural twist, with Mr. Dershowitz attempting to weigh in on Mr. Finkelstein's bid for tenure at DePaul.

How Mr. Dershowitz's move will play out remains to be seen. Mr. Finkelstein's department supported his tenure bid, but the dean of his college has refused to back him. A final decision is expected next month.

There is no love lost between Mr. Finkelstein, an assistant professor of political science, and Mr. Dershowitz. The two scholars have attacked each other repeatedly in the past few years, hurling accusations of plagiarism and polemics at each another.










Previous Next